Sydney Uni Sport & Fitness
+612 9351 4960

Sydney Uni Rowers scoop the pool at NSW Presentation Dinner

by | June 10, 2010
Sydney Uni Rowers scoop the pool at NSW Presentation Dinner

Sydney University Rowing won major awards both for elite competition and contribution to the sport at the 2011 Rowing New South Wales Presentation Dinner held last night.


Sydney Uni retained the Men's and Women's Elite U23 Shield after another season in which they dominated the NSW elite competition.


For the 8th year running, the NSW Rowing Honours Trophy for the most points scored at the State Championships also went to Sydney Uni - due in large to the efforts of the U21 Women's squad who topped the points table in the U19/21 Shield.


On the individual front, Bronwen Watson was awarded the Oarswoman of the Year trophy.


While Director of Rowing, Mark Prater was awarded NSW Rowing Coach of the Year for 2009-10. This award recognised the success of Sydney Uni at both the National Championships (where the club topped the medal table with 16 golds) and the NSW Championships.


The Rusty Robertson Award is given at the discretion of the Rowing NSW Board to a club or individual who has made a sustained and valuable contribution to the aims of the Rowing Association. This year this major award went to Women's Rowing Club's recently retired President, Jane Spring.


Jane has been President of the Women's Club since 1986 and was instrumental in securing the boatshed at Blackwattle Bay for Sydney Uni rowing. In addition Jane's tireless work on preserving access to waterways in Sydney was recognised in the citation for this award.



© Copyright Sydney Uni Sport & Fitness 2018. All Rights Reserved. By SiteSuite Website Design