Sydney Uni Sport & Fitness
+61 2 9351 4978

Rugby Union

Sydney Uni Football (Rugby) Club - Men's and Women's

Legend and stories passed down from players of the past, date the origins of the Sydney University Football Club (SUFC) to 1863 with matches against crews of visiting naval ships. The Sydney University Football Club is the oldest club outside of Britain and the eighth oldest in the world after Guy’s Hospital (1843), Dublin University (1854), Edinburgh Academicals (1857), Liverpool (1857), Blackheath (1858), Richmond (1861) and Sale (1861). “On the afternoon of 19th August, 1865 a rugby match was played on the University grounds. After an exciting struggle, which lasted an hour and a half, during which no goals were obtained by either side, the game was stopped owing to a misunderstanding with regard to the rules.” Sydney Morning Herald 22 August 1865.

The Sydney District Competition was established in 1900. Prior to 1900 SUFC won 18 1st Grade competitions and five 2nd Grade competitions, with a first past the post system. SUFC has won 28 First Grade Premierships and over 100 Premierships in total across all Grades and Colts since 1900.

In 2015, the Club won its 12th consecutive Club Championship and took 4 Premierships in 2nd Grade, 1st Colts, 2nd Colts an 3rd Colts. Including a number of trophies within the 1st Grade competition, including the David Brockhoff Cup, Cutler / Tooth Trophy, White Ribbon Cup and John Thornton Cup.

Last season 7 players were named in the Wallabies, including Sam Carter, Israel Folau, Bernard Foley, Ben McCalman, Dean Mumm, Nick Phipps, Paddy Ryan and Will Skelton, as well as Ed Jenkins and Greg Jeloudev in the Australian 7s.

Six players from the club were also selected to play in the Australian U20s team, including Folau Faingaa, Jack McCalman, Jack Redden, Matthew Sandell, Harrison Williams and Christian Yassmin.

SUFC has also provided a host of players to the Super Rugby ranks, including this season having Peter Betham, Dave Dennis, Israel Folau, Bernard Foley, Tolu Latu, Pat McCutcheon, Dean Mumm, Nick Phipps, Paddy Ryan, Will Skelton, and Jeremy Tilse with the NSW Waratahs; Tom English, Mitch Inman, Sam Jeffries, Nik Stirzaker and Laurie Weeks with the Melbourne Rebels; Sam Carter and James Dargaville with the ACT Brumbies; Sam Talakai with the Queensland Reds, and Nathan Charles and Ben McCalman with Western Force.

For a detailed insight into the statistical history of the club, including club records and representative statistics CLICK HERE

Established in 2005, the SUFC Juniors are going from strength to strength. Currently SUFC has three affiliated Junior Village Clubs in Canterbury, Petersham and Balmain who provide the opportunity for young players to learn and play rugby from age 5 to 17 years. Both girls and boys are welcome. For more information on our Juniors Program CLICK HERE.

Each year the Women's branch of the club enters a team Sydney Women’s Competition, playing for the Jack Scott Cup. 

Established in 1995 the club has a long and rich tradition, and has been proud to produce numerous Wallaroos and Aussie 7s players, as well as NSW 7s and Sydney XVs representatives. In 2015, 9 SUWR players were selected in the Sydney XVs representative team, 5 in the Wallaroos squad, 8 in the NSW 7s team and 3 in the Aussie 7s squad. In 2015, SUWR also regained their title of Premiers taking out the Sydney Women’s Rugby Union Premiership.

Other from participating in the Sydney Women’s XVs competition, the club also participates in numerous 7s tournaments throughout Spring and Summer.

The women's team welcomes players of all skills and abilities and you need not be a student of Sydney University to register. 

Keen to know more about the Club?

Website | 

Email | 

Instagram | @sufc1863@suwr1995



© Copyright Sydney Uni Sport & Fitness 2020. All Rights Reserved. By SiteSuite Website Design